History

History

Named after the early Australian explorer John Oxley, Oxley once covered a larger area including the suburbs of Chelmer, Graceville and Corinda to the north. It extended to the south into the current suburbs of Willawong and Durack. Although the railway through the suburb connected Oxley to the rest of Brisbane it was the road to Ipswich that defined the suburb’s early development.

The suburb was a stop-over point on the Cobb & Co coach route west to the Darling Downs. The first hotel in Oxley was built in 1860 close to Oxley Creek on a rise near Factory Road. It attracted other businesses to the area and provided refreshments for travelers between Brisbane and Ipswich. The hotel was moved several times due to flooding which was not a deterrent to the licensee. By 1892 a brick hotel has been built on the corner of Oxley Road and Ipswich Road, the site of a public bar still open today.

The railway station was opened in 1874, this iconic station is the inspiration for the name The Station Oxley. Not only as a point of reference, but a future icon itself, The Station Oxley hopes to serve the local community and be a meeting hub for social catch-ups as well as convenience shopping.